The Dublin procedure

The Dublin III Regulation is currently in force. It is a recast of the Dublin Convention from 1990.

The Dublin Regulation determines that every application for asylum, made inside the "Dublin area" has to be examined by member states of the European Union as well as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland or Liechtenstein.

The Dublin procedure is a procedure that takes place prior to the actual examination of the application for asylum in order to determine the responsible state. It is decided according to the "Dublin procedure", which member state is responsible for conducting the asylum procedure.

The Federal Office for Migration and Refugees informs the applicant for asylum that a Dublin procedure is conducted and asks the applicant for reasons which contradict a transfer to the responsible member state.

As soon as the member state, responsible according to the Dublin procedure, approved the transfer of the applicant for asylum, the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees issues a notice that orders the transfer to the member state. The applicant for asylum can appeal against this notice.

The Aliens Department and German Federal Police are responsible for conducting the transfer, while the Federal Office for Migration and Refugees coordinates the transfer.