Entry requirements - Entering Germany

I am in my home country or another state outside Germany and want to enter Germany.


Then please select:

I am citizen of an EU member state or the European Economic Area (EEA: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland).

I am citizen of a non EU country (third state).


Then please select:

I am already in Germany and want to stay.

I was just a little curious, but want to stay where I am.

EU citizen

I am citizen of an EU member state.

Citizens of a member state of the European Union can enter Germany without any visa.



Incomers from non-EU countries, so called third country nationals, generally require a visa to enter Germany. Before entering you have to contact the diplomatic mission of the Federal Republic of Germany. There you apply for the visa by providing the required documents and declare the intended purpose of your stay.


For visits of no more than three months in any sixth-month period citizens of certain states are exempt by the European Union from the requirement of a visa. For which countries that applies you get informed by the diplomatic mission of Germany or on the web page of the Federal Foreign Office.

Exceptions from the requirement of visas obtain citizens of Australia, Israel, Japan, Canada, the Republic of Korea, New Zealand and the United States of America (ยง 41 I German Residence Regulation, AufenthV).


Were you allowed to enter Germany without any visa and are now planning to stay for longer? Then you need to apply for the issuing of a residence title within three months after entry. This application has to be submitted at the competent Aliens Department. The competence of the Aliens Department depends on your future place of residence on German territory.

Stay outside Germany

Whenever you decide to come to Germany, visit our site again.